Student Blogs & Vlogs | College Study Abroad Programs, IFSA-Butler

10 days

That’s how much longer I’ve got at home before I leave for Ireland!  It’s really a crazy concept considering my internship just ended yesterday and it’s kept me so busy all summer that I really haven’t done anything substantial in terms of getting ready to study abroad.  The next week is going to be a mad dash to get everything together before I leave, but I’m not worried.  These things have a way of working out.

 
That being said, I figure I should just introduce myself in this first post of mine.

My name is Caroline.  I’m 20 years old and I’m from Long Island, NY.  I’m going into my junior year at Vassar College (Poughkeepsie, NY) and I’m majoring in Neuroscience and Behavior.  However, my major department doesn’t accept any credits from time spent abroad, so all of my time in Ireland will be focused on my minor: Music and Culture.  I will be spending the next four months taking classes about music, and I’m participating in the Early Start Program in Musics in Ireland for my first month abroad.

Needless to say that’s going to be awesome.

While we’re on the subject, I am a musician.  I play the viola, pipe organ, and piano.  I won’t be doing any performance while I’m in Ireland, though.  At least not to my knowledge.  My minor is more focused on learning about musical genres and cultural music than it is on performance.  It will be weird to not play for four months, but probably weirder to be taking such a huge break from science.  Disclaimer: I am a huge nerd.

Let’s see, how about 10 other random facts.

1.  I’m half Irish, which largely influenced my decision to go there (the other half is Sicilian).

2.  I’ve also never been out of the country aside from one family vacation to Turks & Caicos, so this will be extra interesting.  This little fact has left me about equally excited to see new places, sad to leave home, and nervous to be away from anything and everyone that I’ve come to know.  It’s a bit ridiculous to be feeling all of those things at once, but I’m thinking that will probably go away once I step off the plane in Dublin and just take a look around.

3.  I’ve been dating my boyfriend Aaron for over four years, so I imagine his name might pop up in this blog once or twice or lots.

4.  I’m a pescetarian (meaning I don’t eat any meat except fish).

5.  I’m one of two captains of my college’s equestrian team.  I’ve been riding horses for over ten years and I’ve been riding competitively for about half of that time.  I don’t have my own horse, but I’ve been competing with some horses for so long that I love them like they’re my own.

6.  I have a lot of other pets, though: 2 dogs, 2 guinea pigs, a bird, and 2 gerbils.  And it used to be even more than that.  I like animals a lot.

7.  I’m a certified scuba diver.

8.  I spent my summer working in a psychiatry research lab on a schizophrenia project.

9.  I have really diverse music taste.  That might become evident later on.

10.  If this semester goes as planned, I’ll be seeing way more than Ireland in the next four months.

Well, I think that’s pretty good for now.  I’m really looking forward to sharing my experiences in Ireland with whichever friends, family, or otherwise interested people happen to stumble upon my blog :).

– c

Share

One Response to “10 days”

  1. Con O'Donnell Says:

    Hi,

    I am in the middle of preparing for my Masters at UCC, starting September 12th, so I have been looking around the internet for all things Cork and especially anything relating to studying at UCC.

    Then I stumbled upon your blog- very interesting listening to your perspective on everything so far.

    I hope you are enjoying it and once you shake the “culture shock” I think you will really enjoy it.

    Either way, it will be a great experience for you and all the best to you!

    Con, 23.
    Donegal,
    Ireland.

Leave a Reply

Are you human? *